How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15!

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15!

I love flowers! Practically the first thing I did when we moved into our house was plant a ton of them. I got a huge bag of wildflower seeds from the local Home Depot and went crazy. I planted them in the front on both sides of the door, next to our back deck, and in the flowerbeds in the back and side of our yard. I actually ended up emptying 2 of the bags of seeds before I was satisfied. They grew pretty quickly when I remembered to water them everyday. Now, we have crazy flowers all around our yard. They’re different shades of purple, orange, yellow, white, blue, red, every color. All different shapes and heights and kind of leaves everywhere. They’re so beautiful, but really wild. They were almost as tall as me, climbing on to the front steps and the back deck, hanging into the driveway even. I actually ended up with a lot of flowers! Sometimes when I’m pruning the garden, I’ve cut some flowers to arrange inside. And then I started buying them at the grocery store sometimes once I realized they were only $4.69 a bunch. After putting bouquets together step by step from directions online and getting used to the process, these are some of the flowers I’ve put together.

I Made this Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less Than $15 I Made this Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Only $5 I Made this Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less Than $15 I Made this Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less Than $10

This is how I arrange a bouquet of flowers quickly, and cheaply in 7 easy steps

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15: Step by Step

For directions,

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15: Vase

  • Step 1- Gather your materials! You will need: vase, scissors, greenery, flowers.
    Check out your vase. Visualize how many stems you are going to need to fill it. If you don’t have a vase, go to the thrift store, the dollar store, your parents’ house, or Walmart and grab a vase for next to nothing.
    I only have one vase, its from flowers DJ sent me for our anniversary. I’ve gotten used to how much it takes to fill, which is 15-30 flowers depending on size plus about the same amount of greenery.Greenery is the base of the flower arrangement, and the most often forgotten. You need to create some contrast between the beautiful flowers and the leaves. You can also buy greenery at your local grocery store.

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15

Today I’ve picked up 2 bunches of Peruvian lilies, which was $9.38 total. The flowers at Shoprite are 3 bunches for $12, or $4.69 each. I try to make sure all the flowers have a coordinating hue usually, but do whatever suits your style. Just eyeball what will fit nicely in your vase. I would guess each bunch has 10 flowers on average. If you get more expensive blooms like peonies or hydrangeas, there are less flowers. I usually try to get cheaper smaller flowers, because you get more of them. I chose the Peruvian lilies because last time I used them, they lasted almost 2 weeks perfectly.

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15: Greenery prep

  • Step 2- Just strip away any leaves on the bottom part of the stem so that they don’t get wet. Then measure what height to trim them against your vase. Your flowers and greenery should be 1 1/2 the height of the vase.

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15: Arranging the Greenery

  • Step 3- I arrange the greenery before I add flowers. You want them to slightly drape over each side of the vase when the arrangement is finished, so put them in diagonally. It doesn’t have to be perfect just yet. Today I used 3 pieces of plastic greenery from the dollar store. I put them in my vase first and then add the fresh stems above and below it. The fake pieces look great and I love that they re-usable. I am going to check out a craft store for more, next time I go. I keep 4 or more stems aside to fill the middle or any holes after I add flowers.

 How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15: Flowers from the Grocery Store

  • Step 4- You’ll do the same thing with the flowers. Strip away any leaves on the stem so that they don’t get wet, and trim the stem, around 1 1/2 of the height of your vase. I usually save that one to measure the rest of them. I always cut a couple stems longer than average, and a couple shorter also.

Making Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15

  • Step 5- Once they’re prepped, I start to weave the flowers around through the the vase evenly. Remeber to always put them in diagonally. If you had different kinds of flowers, do a couple at a time from each variety. The taller stalks will go in the center of your vase, and the shorter ones will look best on the sides of your arrangement.

If the mouth of your vase is wide, you may have a hard time getting it arranged on each side. You can use a clear elastic hair tie to anchor the bouquet. Since its clear, it blends in with the leaves and flowers.

How to Make Your Own Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less than $15

  • Step 6- Keep adding flowers from each variety, and use extra greenery to fill it out. Then, look it over and see if there are any blooms that need to be moved, trimmed, or turned.
  • Step 7- Then you just add the water and the packet that came with the flowers. I use a water bottle to mix the packet and water, then dilute it until the stems are well covered. If they didn’t include one, I have heard that a drop of bleach works well to preserve them also.

I Made this Gorgeous Flower Arrangement for Less Than $10

That is it! Easy, right? Remember to keep your flowers away from sunlight and from the air conditioner/heater, to help them stay fresh looking longer.

Do you have any other tips or questions on flower arrangement?

Leave a Reply

